Pilc Moutin Hoenig


October 11, 2011


1. Nardis
2. Think Of One
3. Morning
4. A Foggy Day
5. You And The Night And The Music
6. Birth
7. Slow
8. Touch
9. Giant Steps
10. Afro Blue
11. The Grinch Dance
12. Dusk
13. Lily
14. Threedom
15. Hymn For Her
16. I'm Beginning To See The Light
17. Confirmation
18. Smile


Paris-born, New York-based, self-taught jazz pianist Jean-Michel Pilc is one of the foremost improvisers, composers and pianists in jazz today. Pilc served as Harry Belafonte's musical director and pianist, and has worked with an eclectic mix of jazz greats including Roy Haynes, Kenny Garrett, Michael Brecker, the Mingus Big Band and Mingus Dynasty, John Abercrombie, Lenny White and many others. A resident of New York since 1995, Pilc first made his mark leading his acclaimed trio with bassist François Moutin and drummer Ari Hoenig (now regrouped under the band name Pilc Moutin Hoenig). In addition to numerous works for trio and big band, he also authored a Trio Sonata with support from Chamber Music America's New Works Program and, most recently, “Modern Lights,” a composition reflecting Charlie Chaplin’s work, premiered at the Caramoor Jazz Festival in 2009. Some of Pilc's best-known recordings over the past fifteen years include The Jean-Michel Pilc Trio:

Together - Live at Sweet Basil, Volumes 1 & 2 (2000); Live at Iridium (2005) and True Story (2010). Additionally, Pilc is the subject of John McCormick's 2009 documentary film, "Jean-Michel Pilc – A Portrait." Essential is his first recording for Motéma Music. In addition to solo projects, Pilc Moutin Hoenig Trio and composing, Pilc is also a NYU Steinhardt faculty member and teaches at The New School in NYC.

In addition to this solo release, Jean-Michel will also release a brand new recording by his original trio – François Moutin on bass and Ari Hoenig on drums – who were met by critical acclaim for their 2002 release, Welcome Home. Since then, all three have become leaders in their own right. The Pilc Moutin Hoenig Trio, fresh out of the studio, will release “Threedom”, on the Motéma label on August 9, 2011.


Download on iTunes

Buy on Amazon




February 16, 2018

The new album from jazz innovator David Murray and acclaimed actor/poet Saul [ More ]

February 7, 2018

The New York Times included the new track “Cycles and Seasons” from [ More ]

The French newspaper Libération published a full page article on the new album [ More ]

ALL NEWS FOR: David Murray
ALL NEWS FOR: Uncategorized